WBIR staff show their Mizzou roots

Posted 8:50 PM 11/21/2014 by Andrew Kauffman, KOMU 8 Reporter

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. - On the field, the Missouri Tigers and Tennessee Volunteers don't have a huge rivalry. Saturday marks only the third time in the two schools' history they've ever met. But, one television station in Knoxville, Tenn., takes this game extra seriously. 

WBIR is the NBC (More)...


No. 19 Missouri outlasts Tennessee 29-21

Posted 8:24 PM 11/22/2014 by The Associated Press

KNOXVILLE, Tennessee (AP) - Missouri found a way to win on the road once again.

Now, the 19th-ranked Tigers return home with a chance to earn their second straight trip to the Southeastern Conference championship game.

Maty Mauk threw a pair of fourth-quarter touchdown passes (More)...

Missouri vs. Tennessee: news, scores and stats


Battle reaches state championship in just second season

Posted 8:32 PM 11/21/2014 by Chinmay Vaidya, KOMU 8 Sports Digital Producer

COLUMBIA - Battle's varsity football team is headed to the Division 5 state championship game. After finishing 5-4 in its inaugural season, the Spartans have a chance to win the title in just their second season. 

Led by running backs Nash Sutherland and Marshall Willingham, Battle (More)...

High school football state semifinals scores


U.S. Army All-American Bowl means more to MU football commit

Posted 6:12 PM 11/20/2014 by Tyler Greever, KOMU 8 Sports Reporter

LEE'S SUMMIT - Missouri football commit Drew Lock, a quarterback from Lee's Summit High School, was presented with a jersey on Tuesday for the 2015 U.S. Army All-American Bowl on January 3, 2015.

Lock, (More)...


Tigers net second win in defeat of Oral Roberts

Posted 7:37 PM 11/19/2014 by Justin Cowan, KOMU 8 Sports Digital Producer

COLUMBIA - The Missouri Tigers added on to their season win total after defeating the Oral Roberts Golden Eagles 78-64 on Wednesday night. The Tiger offense was impressive, shooting over 50% from the field and 57% from behind the three-point line. 

Montaque Gill-Ceasar led the scoring (More)...

Chiefs defensive line still shutting teams down

Cardinals release spring training schedule


Local Scores: Tuesday, Nov. 18th

Local Scores: Tuesday, Nov. 18th

Posted 8:13 PM 11/18/2014 by Chelsea Vaughn, KOMU 8 Sports Digital Producer

Men's College Basketball

Columbia College- 73

CMU- 56

William Woods-97

Missouri Valley -92

Women's College Basketball

Tabor- 70

Missouri Valley- 66


TE Coffman to talk to NFL about $30,000 fine


Hansbrough scores SEC weekly award

Hansbrough scores SEC weekly award

Posted 4:18 PM 11/17/2014 by Tom Kackley, KOMU 8 Reporter

COLUMBIA - The SEC rewarded a Missouri Tiger on the offensive side of the ball for a change.

Russell Hansbrough won the SEC Offensive Player of the Week award after piling up 199 yards and two touchdowns against Texas A&M in a 34-27 victory Saturday.

This is the first time (More)...

Heyward to Cards, Braves get Miller in 4-man deal

Columbia College basketball player shares special bond

KOMU First Alert Weather