CMU Softball Earns No. 2 seed in Rogers State Bracket

Posted: May 8, 2013 6:33 PM
Updated: May 9, 2013 11:51 AM

Rating: 0.0 (0 votes)

KANSAS CITY -- Central Methodist has earned the No. 2-seed in the Rogers State Bracket and will face the bracket host and the No. 3 seed, as the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics announced Tuesday.

Each of the 10 locations will feature a four-team double-elimination tournament May 13-15.

Pairings for the Opening Round are based upon the following prioritized criteria: geographical location of teams, financial consideration and the final rating from the NAIA Softball Coaches' Top 25 Poll released earlier today.

On May 13, the No. 1 seed faces the No. 4 seed at each site while the Nos. 2 and 3 seeds battle it out. The second day sees three games and the third and final day has the championship game and "if necessary" game.

Thirty-one teams earned automatic berths to the Opening Round field by placing first or second at their respective conference/independent/unaffiliated group tournaments or by winning a regular-season championship.

An additional five at-large host berth selections and four at-large berths complete the list of qualifiers. The at-large berths were determined by the final Coaches' Top 25 Poll.

Each of the Opening Round winners will advance to the NAIA Softball National Championship final site in Columbus, Ga., May 24 - 30. The format in Columbus is a double-elimination, 10-team event on a single championship field.

2013 NAIA Softball National Championship Opening Round Brackets:

Belhaven Bracket
1. Reinhardt
2. Belhaven
3. William Woods
4. LSU Alexandria

Concordia Bracket
1. Concordia
2. St. Gregory's
3. College of Idaho
4. Bethany

Concordia Bracket
1. Saint Xavier
2. Corban
3. Concordia
4. MidAmerica Nazarene

Lee Bracket
1. Lee
2. Olivet Nazarene
3. IU Southeast
4. Bethel

Lindsey Wilson Bracket
1. Auburn Montgomery
2. Lindsey Wilson
3. Davenport
4. Grand View

Lubbock Christian Bracket
1. Lubbock Christian
2. Houston-Victoria
3. Friends
4. Northwood

Oklahoma City Bracket
1. Oklahoma City
2. Freed-Hardeman
3. Bellevue
4. Hastings

Park Bracket
1. Cal State San Marcos
2. Park
3. Marian
4. Dickinson State

Rogers State Bracket
1. Williams Baptist
2. Central Methodist
3. Rogers State
4. Morningside

USC Beaufort Bracket
1. USC Beaufort
2. Spring Hill
3. Virginia Intermont
4. Cumberland

KOMU First Alert Weather

Most Popular Right Now

Select a station to view its upcoming show schedule: KOMU 8 CW Mid-Missouri's CW

Coming Up Next

10:00 pmKOMU 8 News @ 10
10:35 pmThe Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon
11:37 pmLate Night with Seth Meyers

Tonight's Schedule

7:00 pmHeroes Reborn
8:00 pmThe Blacklist
9:00 pmThe Player

Coming Up Next

10:00 pmCougar Town
10:30 pmCougar Town
11:00 pmRaising Hope

Tonight's Schedule

7:00 pmThe Vampire Diaries
8:00 pmThe Originals
9:00 pmKOMU 8 News @ Nine on The CW
9:30 pmSeinfeld