Columbia College Players Named to "Honor Court"

Posted: Jul 17, 2013 3:38 PM
Updated: Jul 17, 2013 4:39 PM

Rating: 0.0 (0 votes)

KANSAS CITY - The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced the NABC Honors Court today, recognizing those collegiate basketball student-athletes who excelled in academics during the 2012-13 season. A total of seven Cougar men's basketball players were selected to receive the honor. The NABC Honors Court recognizes the talents and gifts that these men possess on the court, and the hard work they exhibit in the classroom.

Representatives of Columbia included Blake Walker, Brock Walker, Jordan Dressler, Ben Bowman, Hal Payne, Zach Rockers, and Tanner Sutton. These seven players were instrumental in leading the Cougars to one of the most successful seasons in program history in 2012-13, which included an undefeated regular season and the program's first ever No. 1 national ranking. Columbia captured the American Midwest Conference (AMC) regular season and tournament championship on its way to a 35-1 overall record, culminating in a trip to the Elite Eight of the NAIA National Tournament.

KOMU First Alert Weather

Most Popular Right Now

Select a station to view its upcoming show schedule: KOMU 8 CW Mid-Missouri's CW

Coming Up Next

4:00 amEarly Today
4:30 amKOMU 8 News Today
5:00 amKOMU 8 News Today

Tonight's Schedule

7:00 pmThe Making of the Wiz Live!
8:00 pmSaturday Night Live

Coming Up Next

4:00 amPaid Program
4:30 amPaid Program
5:00 amPaid Program

Tonight's Schedule

7:00 pmPlanes, Trains and Automobiles
9:00 pmKOMU 8 News @ Nine on The CW
9:30 pmSeinfeld