Michael Sam Continues To Gather Awards

Posted: Dec 11, 2013 2:53 PM by Mark Kim, KOMU 8 Sports Digital Producer
Updated: Dec 11, 2013 3:53 PM

Rating: 0.0 (0 votes)

COLUMBIA - Missouri defensive end Michael Sam continues to gather accolades. After being named the AP SEC Defensive Player of the Year and AP All-SEC First Team, Sam was named to the USA Today All-American First Team and the SEC Co-Defensive Player of the Year.

Sam is the only Missouri player to crack the USA Today All-American team. The team includes players such as Jameis Winston, Andre Williams, Mike Evans and Anthony Barr. He led the SEC in sacks and tackles for loss.

Sam is also the first Mizzou player in program history to earn a conference defensive player of the year award from league coaches. Alabama linebacker C.J Mosley will share the honor with Sam this year. Sam is the second player to be named conference defensive player of the year. The last Missouri player to be named defensive player of the year was Jeff Gaylord in 1981.

Sam will take the field one last time for Missouri on Friday, Jan. 3 in Arlington, Texas as Missouri will face Oklahoma St. in the AT&T Cotton Bowl.

KOMU First Alert Weather

Most Popular Right Now

Select a station to view its upcoming show schedule: KOMU 8 CW Mid-Missouri's CW

Coming Up Next

11:00 amPGA TOUR Golf
2:30 pmCollege Football

Tonight's Schedule

6:16 pmNASCAR Sprint Cup

Coming Up Next

11:00 amHatched
11:30 amDream Quest
12:00 pmAre We There Yet?

Tonight's Schedule

7:00 pmFamily Guy
7:30 pmFamily Guy
8:00 pmBob's Burgers
8:30 pmBob's Burgers
9:00 pmKOMU 8 News @ Nine on The CW
9:30 pmSeinfeld