Missouri Football Teams Receive Awards From PFWA

Posted: Jan 15, 2014 5:05 PM by Mark Kim, KOMU 8 Sports Digital Producer
Updated: Jan 15, 2014 6:41 PM

Rating: 0.0 (0 votes)

With the regular season for the NFL at wraps, the Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA) reflected on the season by handing out awards. Many players from the Kansas City Chiefs and St. Louis Rams received awards.

Rams defensive end Robert Quinn received arguably the biggest award so far for any Missouri team as he was named PFWA Defensive Player of the Year. Quinn racked up 11 sacks during the 2013-2014 NFL season and forced a league-leading seven fumbles. He also finished the season with 57 tackles (41 solo) and one defensive touchdown, a fumble recovery against the Bears in week 12.

Quinn was also named to the PWFA All-NFL team and PWFA All-NFC team along with punter Johnny Hekker. Hekker, in his second season in the league, did not have a punt blocked once this year and averaged 44.2 yards per punt.

The Chiefs had three players voted to the PFWA All-NFL team: running back Jamaal Charles, safety Eric Berry and kick returner Dexter McCluster. As for the PFWA All-AFC team, four more Chiefs were voted to the team along with Charles, Berry and McCluster. Those players were offensive tackle Branden Albert, defensive tackle Dontari Poe, linebacker Justin Houston and kick returner Quintin Demps.

Along with the All-NFL awards, the PFWA also announced their All-Rookie team. Rams linebacker Alec Ogletree and kick returner Tavon Austin were named to the team.

The PFWA will announce the rest of their awards from Jan. 16-17.

KOMU First Alert Weather

Most Popular Right Now