Missouri raises state minimum wage rate
JEFFERSON CITY - The Missouri Department of Labor announced on Friday, Nov. 7 it will be raising the state minimum wage rate from $7.50 to $7.65 an hour, effective January 2015.
All businesses will be required to pay hourly employees the $7.65 hourly rate, except for retail and service businesses that make less than $500,000 a year.
Employers are required to pay tipped employees at least half the state minimum wage rate, or enough to make the employee's total pay at least $7.65 an hour.
Missouri state law does not allow the minimum wage to go below the federal minimum wage rate of $7.25.
The state minimum wage rate is calculated once a year and takes into account the average cost of living from the previous year's Consumer Price Index.
Select a station to view its upcoming schedule: