According to a 2017 national survey, one in five Americans has a mental illness. Whether it's you or someone you know, it impacts us all, no matter your age, gender, or race. It can be difficult to talk about, leaving many mid-Missourians feeling alone in the dark. That's why we're shining a light on mental health. You are not alone. KOMU 8 Cares... A Brighter Tomorrow.

A Brighter Tomorrow

(CNN) -- Former First Lady Michelle Obama says she's suffering from a "low-grade depression." The reasons? The pandemic, race relations... More >>
12 hours ago Thursday, August 06 2020 Aug 6, 2020 Thursday, August 06, 2020 10:53:16 AM CDT August 06, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
At the beginning of the Coronavirus pandemic, NBC news reported people with eating disorders were suffering due to social isolation.... More >>
13 hours ago Thursday, August 06 2020 Aug 6, 2020 Thursday, August 06, 2020 10:41:55 AM CDT August 06, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- Vitamin D is known as the "sunshine vitamin" because your body absorbs the nutrient primarily through exposure to... More >>
1 day ago Wednesday, August 05 2020 Aug 5, 2020 Wednesday, August 05, 2020 10:40:06 AM CDT August 05, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
The American Psychiatric Association defines depression as "a common and serious medical illness that negatively affects how you feel, the... More >>
2 days ago Tuesday, August 04 2020 Aug 4, 2020 Tuesday, August 04, 2020 3:00:30 PM CDT August 04, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- The posts come every few minutes. Members from South Africa to Arizona report their coronavirus symptoms. Someone asks... More >>
6 days ago Friday, July 31 2020 Jul 31, 2020 Friday, July 31, 2020 9:32:10 AM CDT July 31, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- Botox injections may do more than erase the signs of age, or prevent you from feeling painful migraines... More >>
1 week ago Thursday, July 30 2020 Jul 30, 2020 Thursday, July 30, 2020 1:42:19 PM CDT July 30, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- When it comes to screen time, parents should start worrying less about the amount of time their teenagers... More >>
1 week ago Wednesday, July 29 2020 Jul 29, 2020 Wednesday, July 29, 2020 10:31:54 AM CDT July 29, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
The American Psychiatric Association describes bipolar disorders as brain disorders that cause changes in a person's mood, energy and ability... More >>
1 week ago Tuesday, July 28 2020 Jul 28, 2020 Tuesday, July 28, 2020 7:13:29 PM CDT July 28, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
CNN) -- Chronic stress can change your brain . Experiencing racism could make it worse. Racial discrimination may increase... More >>
1 week ago Monday, July 27 2020 Jul 27, 2020 Monday, July 27, 2020 9:14:43 AM CDT July 27, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
Anxiety is your body's reaction to stress. According to the American Psychiatric Association, anxiety disorders are the most common type... More >>
2 weeks ago Thursday, July 23 2020 Jul 23, 2020 Thursday, July 23, 2020 8:17:12 AM CDT July 23, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- A gut-wrenching experience. Butterflies in your stomach. Many of us instinctively feel the connection between our gut... More >>
2 weeks ago Wednesday, July 22 2020 Jul 22, 2020 Wednesday, July 22, 2020 9:49:38 AM CDT July 22, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
The American Psychiatric Association describes addiction as a brain disease characterized by compulsive substance abuse despite harmful consequences. The... More >>
2 weeks ago Tuesday, July 21 2020 Jul 21, 2020 Tuesday, July 21, 2020 10:35:49 AM CDT July 21, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- Shirley Freeman has been seeing therapists on and off for about six years, but not a single one... More >>
2 weeks ago Monday, July 20 2020 Jul 20, 2020 Monday, July 20, 2020 10:08:46 AM CDT July 20, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- In two years, individuals in suicidal crisis seeking help will have a number that's easy to remember and... More >>
2 weeks ago Friday, July 17 2020 Jul 17, 2020 Friday, July 17, 2020 5:11:55 PM CDT July 17, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- 1. Wake up. 2. Make coffee. 3. Write this story. In a time when it... More >>
3 weeks ago Tuesday, July 14 2020 Jul 14, 2020 Tuesday, July 14, 2020 9:53:01 AM CDT July 14, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
BOONE COUNTY - Essential workers in Boone County are now eligible for free mental health services through HeartSpace Clinic ,... More >>
3 weeks ago Sunday, July 12 2020 Jul 12, 2020 Sunday, July 12, 2020 4:54:16 PM CDT July 12, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- Just before the lockdown began, London-based writer Valentina Valentini made the choice of a lifetime: She agreed to... More >>
4 weeks ago Thursday, July 09 2020 Jul 9, 2020 Thursday, July 09, 2020 8:18:25 AM CDT July 09, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- Hey sleepyheads -- have you been turning off or covering up all your smartphone and computer lights in... More >>
4 weeks ago Wednesday, July 08 2020 Jul 8, 2020 Wednesday, July 08, 2020 12:31:24 PM CDT July 08, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
Columbia, MO
Broken Clouds 70°
12am 70°
1am 70°
2am 69°
3am 69°

Mental Health Resources

Crisis Hotlines

  • Mid-Missouri Crisis Line
  • 1-888-761-4357
  • 1-573-445-5035
  • Suicide Prevention Hotline
  • 1-800-273-8255
  • Mental Health Crisis Hotline
  • 1-800-395-2132
  • Vet2Vet: Veteran's Crisis Hotline
  • 1-877-VET2VET (838-2838)
  • United Way 211
  • Cell Phones: 211
  • 1-800-472-4626

Counseling and Treatment in Mid-Missouri

Local Resources and Support Organizations