A Brighter Tomorrow

According to a 2017 national survey, one in five Americans has a mental illness. Whether it's you or someone you know, it impacts us all, no matter your age, gender, or race. It can be difficult to talk about, leaving many mid-Missourians feeling alone in the dark. That's why we're shining a light on mental health. You are not alone. KOMU 8 Cares... A Brighter Tomorrow.

A Brighter Tomorrow

The COVID-19 pandemic continues to change parts of our everyday lives. Living rooms have turned into offices and schools, businesses... More >>
14 minutes ago Friday, April 03 2020 Apr 3, 2020 Friday, April 03, 2020 12:48:40 PM CDT April 03, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
According to a new study from the University of Georgia, hot weather can take a toll on your mental health.... More >>
1 day ago Thursday, April 02 2020 Apr 2, 2020 Thursday, April 02, 2020 12:00:51 PM CDT April 02, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- Postponing Tokyo 2020 will have provided a sense of relief to many Olympians but the delay in the... More >>
2 days ago Wednesday, April 01 2020 Apr 1, 2020 Wednesday, April 01, 2020 12:51:47 PM CDT April 01, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
If you are feeling anxious about COVID-19, you're not alone. A new survey from the American Psychiatric Association reveals more... More >>
2 days ago Tuesday, March 31 2020 Mar 31, 2020 Tuesday, March 31, 2020 3:58:38 PM CDT March 31, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- Heroes come in all shapes and sizes -- this one just happens to have four legs and a... More >>
1 week ago Thursday, March 26 2020 Mar 26, 2020 Thursday, March 26, 2020 11:34:22 AM CDT March 26, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
A new study from China suggests that taking care of COVID-19 patients is taking a toll on the mental health... More >>
1 week ago Wednesday, March 25 2020 Mar 25, 2020 Wednesday, March 25, 2020 2:39:33 PM CDT March 25, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
OMAHA, NE – You’ve probably heard the saying ‘A dog is man’s best friend’, but for Marc Abels his dog... More >>
1 week ago Monday, March 23 2020 Mar 23, 2020 Monday, March 23, 2020 11:21:56 AM CDT March 23, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
ST. PETERSBURG, FL -- A St. Petersburg art studio is teaming up with the James Haley and Bay Pines Veteran's... More >>
2 weeks ago Wednesday, March 18 2020 Mar 18, 2020 Wednesday, March 18, 2020 9:12:55 AM CDT March 18, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) -- The constant spring of information, precautions and warnings, whether it's straight from the CDC or some recirculated, dubiously-sourced... More >>
2 weeks ago Monday, March 16 2020 Mar 16, 2020 Monday, March 16, 2020 9:10:56 AM CDT March 16, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
Their story: BROOKFIELD – Angie Wallace, Nycole Griffin, Tosha Lorton and Wendy Morris all lost their sons to suicide.... More >>
3 weeks ago Thursday, March 12 2020 Mar 12, 2020 Thursday, March 12, 2020 4:39:54 PM CDT March 12, 2020 in Top Stories
More clinics are now integrating mental health checkups into your regular physicals. Doctor Armeet Singh has been a pediatrician... More >>
3 weeks ago Thursday, March 12 2020 Mar 12, 2020 Thursday, March 12, 2020 12:14:28 PM CDT March 12, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
(CNN) – Many babies struggle to fall asleep without a parent at their side, or wake frequently during the night... More >>
3 weeks ago Wednesday, March 11 2020 Mar 11, 2020 Wednesday, March 11, 2020 9:15:49 AM CDT March 11, 2020 in A Brighter Tomorrow
Columbia, MO
Broken Clouds 54°
1pm 51°
2pm 50°
3pm 50°
4pm 49°

Mental Health Resources

Crisis Hotlines

  • Mid-Missouri Crisis Line
  • 1-888-761-4357
  • 1-573-445-5035
  • Suicide Prevention Hotline
  • 1-800-273-8255
  • Mental Health Crisis Hotline
  • 1-800-395-2132
  • Vet2Vet: Veteran's Crisis Hotline
  • 1-877-VET2VET (838-2838)
  • United Way 211
  • Cell Phones: 211
  • 1-800-472-4626

Counseling and Treatment in Mid-Missouri

Local Resources and Support Organizations