13 Tigers Named Dr. Gerald Lage Award Recipients

7 years 3 months 2 weeks ago Tuesday, March 06 2012 Mar 6, 2012 Tuesday, March 06, 2012 4:06:00 PM CST March 06, 2012 in Tiger Talk

COLUMBIA -- Thirteen Tiger student-athletes were named Dr. Gerald Lage Award Recipients, as announced by the conference office Tuesday. The recipients came from the baseball, men's basketball, football, women's golf women's swimming and diving and men's and women's track and field programs.

Seniors Leslie Farmer, Kellyn Fogarty, Kevin McKee and Dan Quigley along with juniors Cortni Ervin and Max Storms highlighted six representatives from the track and field program.

Senior football players Jimmy Costello and De'Vion Moore represent the football program, while senior Jarrett Sutton gave the men's basketball program a presence. Rounding out the Tigers awarded were senior baseball player Andreas Plackis, senior tennis player Jamie Mera, senior golfer Kelly Osbourne, and senior swimmer Lisa Nathanson.

The honor is in memory of Dr. Gerald Lage, who served as the OSU faculty athletics representative with the NCAA and the Big Eight/Big 12 Conference from 1983 until his death in 2007. He was the chairman on three occasions, in 1985-86, 1993-94 and most recently in 2003-04.

In order to be eligible for the accolade, student-athletes must have lettered at least once in their career while maintaining residence at their institution for at least one academic year. The honoree, which can only be recognized once, should have 100 hours of earned credit with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.80 at the time of the nomination.

The Dr. Gerald Lage award winners will receive public recognition at the Phillips 66 Big 12 Basketball Championships this week.


Columbia, MO
Broken Clouds 74°
1am 72°
2am 71°
3am 70°
4am 70°