2012 Academic All-Big 12 Women's Basketball Team Features 7 Tigers

7 years 7 months 4 weeks ago Tuesday, February 14 2012 Feb 14, 2012 Tuesday, February 14, 2012 2:24:00 PM CST February 14, 2012 in Tiger Talk

COLUMBIA -- The Big 12 Conference has named 40 student-athletes to the 2012 Academic All-Big 12 Women's Basketball Team, the league office announced. Missouri and Texas claimed the most overall honorees with seven each. The Tigers' five first teams members was the most of any team.

Missouri's first team members include: Sophomore Tori Niemann, Freshman Bree Fowler, Freshman Morgan Eye, Senior Bailey Gee, and Junior Liz Smith.

Missouri's second team members include: Junior Liene Priede and Sophomore Maggie Flynn.

The Academic All-Big 12 Women's Basketball Team includes 27 first team honorees and 13 second team members. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA while the second team selections hold a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.


Columbia, MO
Broken Clouds 58°
12am 58°
1am 57°
2am 57°
3am 57°