Cougars Volleyball Claims AMC Tournament Title Over Park

7 years 10 months 2 weeks ago Saturday, November 10 2012 Nov 10, 2012 Saturday, November 10, 2012 3:15:00 PM CST November 10, 2012 in Sports

COLUMBIA - No. 3 Columbia College volleyball team defeated Park University 3-0 on Saturday afternoon in the American Midwest Conference (AMC) Tournament Championship Game. The Cougars earned the straight-set victory by scores of 25-21, 25-15, and 25-22. Columbia improves to 37-1 on the year with the victory, marking their sixth conference tournament title in the past seven seasons. The Pirates drop to 27-11 and will await the release of the NAIA National Tournament bracket.

Park was able to jump out to an 11-8 lead to begin the first set. The Cougars would respond with a 7-1 to run to take a 15-12 advantage. The Pirates would even the score at 15, before Columbia would take six of the next seven points for a 21-16 lead. The Cougars would hold off a late Park rally for a 25-21 opening set victory.

Columbia would carry the momentum into the second set, opening up a 12-1 lead at the start and cruising to a 25-15 win.

The third set saw a back-and-forth battle between the two squads, with the Cougars using a late run to pull away and clinch the match with a 25-22 victory.

Junior Kahoriz Feliz led Columbia on the day with 16 kills. Carol Berger posted eight kills to go along with seven kills each from Trinity Ojo and Brooke Simpson. Setter Paula Ferreira led all players with 32 assists and Aleah Hayes added a match-high 16 digs.

The Pirates were led by Lauren Purdy with 13 kills and Kat Partridge with 28 assists. Following today's match, AMC postseason awards were handed out to the league's players and coaches. The Cougars landed four players on the honorable mention squad, including Carol Berger, Kelly Corkum, Aleah Hayes, and Trinity Ojo. Elena Berroteran, Kahoriz Feliz, Paula Ferreira, and Brooke Simpson all received first team honors. Berroteran took home the conference's libero of the year award, while Ferreira was also named the conference player of the year and setter of the year. Corkum, Ferreira, Hayes, Erin Pavlin, and Jordan Reid earned academic all-conference accolades as well.

As AMC champions, Columbia earns an automatic bid to the NAIA National Tournament in Sioux City, Iowa. The opening round of the tournament kicks off Saturday, November 17th.

Columbia, MO
Broken Clouds 69°
10pm 70°
11pm 69°
12am 68°
1am 66°