Josey Named 2011 Doak Walker Award Semifinalist

8 years 4 weeks 20 hours ago Friday, November 11 2011 Nov 11, 2011 Friday, November 11, 2011 9:59:00 AM CST November 11, 2011 in Tiger Talk
Source: Chad Moller - Press Release

DALLAS -- Mizzou sophomore tailback Henry Josey has been named one of 10 semifinalists for the 2011 Doak Walker Award, which is awarded annually by the PxCSMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors and goes to the nation's top running back.

At the beginning of the season Josey was listed third on the depth chart but now he leads the Big 12 Conference and ranks 5th nationally, with an average of 127.67 yards per game. Josey's per-carry average of 8.57 yards is second-best in the nation.

Josey is also leading the nation with 43 rushes of 10 or more yards and 13 runs of 20 or more yards this season, and his 263-yard (3 TDs) outing against Western Illinois is the 3rd-highest single-game total on the year. He has four-straight 100-yard games entering Saturday's showdown with #16 Texas. This year he has gotten six games over the century mark, including a 162-yard effort in leading MU to an overtime win at #16 Texas A&M - coming against an Aggie defense which entered the game ranked 5th in the nation against the run, allowing just 79.86 yards per game.

Josey has 1,149 yards on the season, which is already 6th-most on the Mizzou single-season rushing chart.

Here is a complete list of the  2011 Doak Walker Award Semifinalists:

  • Henry Josey: Missouri Sophomore
  • Montee Ball: Wisconsin Junior
  • Rex Burkhead: Nebraksa Junior
  • Ronnie Hillman: San Diego State Sophomore
  • LaMichael James: Oregon Junior
  • Zach Line: SMU Junior
  • Chris Polk: Washington Junior
  • Joseph Randle: Oklahoma State Sophomore
  • Trent Richardson: Alabama Junior
  • David Wilson: Virginia Tech Junior

The 2011 recipient of "The Biletnikoff" will be announced on December 8, 2011 at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show live on ESPN at 8 P.M. (CT).

Columbia, MO
Broken Clouds 20°
6am 21°
7am 22°
8am 23°
9am 26°