5 Missouri veterans honored for their service

Related Story

JEFFERSON CITY - Family members and friends gathered inside the Governor's office at the Capitol on Friday to celebrate five Missouri Veterans' military service.

Secretary of State Jason Kander awarded Roger Thompson, Dennis Smith, Ronald Mosbaugh, Joy Johnson and John Scheperle Silver Star banners and certificates for their service.

The Silver Star is awarded to a member of any branch of the military who was wounded during active duty combat.

All five Silver Star recipients are from Missouri.