Jefferson City Council Annexes New Land for Sewage System

Related Story

JEFFERSON CITY - The Jefferson City Council unanimously approved two planning and development bills Monday evening.  The city voted to annex 4.8 acres of land on the southeast corner of town, off Boonville Rd., and also approved a construction amendment for a new gymnasium for a private school.

The parcel of land brought into the city limits will be used for a new sewage sanitation system, as well as retain its agricultural purpose it serves now.  Jefferson City Planning and Protective Services director Janice McMillan said the land lies on a floodplain, and the city wanted to bring it into city limits because it already lies along the border.  She said although flooding is a commonality in the area, the new sewage and sanitation system technology the city plans to place there will be able to handle the intake of water.

The sanitation system project is already underway, but McMillan was not sure when it would be completed.

The city council also approved a construction amendment to a currently-vacant state building.  The building owner, BRM, proposed the amendment to build a new gymnasium and class building for Lighthouse Preparatory Academy.  Gerard Rockers, co-owner of BRM, said the plan is to extend one of the walls 30 feet to the edge of the parking lot to accommodate a gym.  The building, located at 216 El Mercado Plaza, was a state research facility until 2008, when the state ended its lease with BRM.  With the city council's approval, the Lighthouse Preparatory Academy board of directors will have to decide whether to pursue the project.  The school currently operates in the Columbia College building on Emerald Ln., and the new building will house both the gymnasium and classrooms for its 6-12 grades.

The council also unanimously approved appointments to multiple committees.  Jason A. Thurnau will serve as a full time member of the Airport Advisory Committee, while Mary Schantz and Dale Gerstner will serve as partial members of the Historic Preservation Commission and Convention & Visitors Bureau respectively.