Related Story

COLUMBIA -- In its final Big 12 conference tournament before moving to the Southeastern Conference, and in front of a home crowd, the Missouri wrestling team won the tournament for the first time with a score of 77 points. Oklahoma State finished in second with 73 points.

The Cowboys long dominated the tournament, with ten conference titles since it began in 1997. Iowa State has won three times, the Oklahoma Sooners emerged victorious twice, and Nebraska--now in the Big 10 conference--won once. 

That made Missouri the only Big 12 team to compete in wrestling and not have a conference title.

Saturday night's victory erased the 15 year drought. The Tigers won four individual championships on their way to capturing the team crown.

Missouri entered the finals round with eight out of a possible ten wrestlers remaining. At that point 4.5 points separated the Tigers from Oklahoma and five points between the team and Oklahoma State.  

Alan Waters at 125, Drake Houdashelt at 157, Zach Toal at 165, and Mike Larson at 184 took home the individual conference titles for the Tigers. 

In addition to capturing the first team Big 12 conference wrestling title, the total of four individual conference champs also set a school record.