President Obama Signs Missouri Disaster Declaration

Related Story

WASHINGTON - President Obama declared that a major disaster exists in Missouri, and ordered Federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the areas struck by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding that began on April 19 and are still continuing.

The declaration makes Federal funding available to affected individuals in the counties of: Butler, Mississippi, New Madrid, St. Louis, and Taney. Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs and low cost loans to conver uninsured property losses. Funding is also available for other programs to help individuals and business owners recovering from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding is also available to state, eligible local governments and certain non-profit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and repairs to facilities damaged by the storm and flooding in St. Louis County.

These funds are also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigating measures statewide.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency named Elizabeth Turner the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal Recovery Operations in the affected area.

Assessments of the damage are still being completed, and additional counties could be added to the list of affected areas.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the areas can apply for assistance May 10 by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice.