Related Story

JEFFERSON CITY - Missouri Governor Jay Nixon appointed 28 members Friday to redistrict the Missouri House and Senate. The Democrats and Republicans each sent the names of ten citizens to Nixon for the senate's apportionment committee. From there, he narrowed that list down to five people from each party. On the house apportionment side, each party sent Nixon 18 names. From there, he chose nine names from each party. Among the mid-Missouri citizens on the senate side, Ashland Democrat Jeff Mazur will serve, along with Columbia Republican Yancy Williams. On the house side, Democrat and former Lieutenant Governor Joe Maxwell from Mexico will serve.